Schubert’s Piano Sonata in A major D664, Andante

“No one feels another’s grief, no one understands another’s joy. People imagine they can reach one another. In reality they only pass each other by”.  I cover my face because how very sad to learn that Franz Schubert once said that.  Perhaps it was just his grumble when he felt upset.  In truth, history stated that Schubert never gave up shining his cares and loves towards those he knew and loved, throughout his very short life of 31 years.  When listening to his Piano Sonata in A major D664, I am moved, especially the Andante movement that I clip here, when Schubert gave glimpses of rainbow amid darkness, a very lyrical, melancholic piece, yet incredibly meditative…  If I may add: “When I wished to sing of love, it turned to sorrow. And when I wished to sing of sorrow, it was transformed for me into love”, that probably was the genuine thought of the admirable Schubert.

Well, why did I bury my face in my hands was also when watching the performance of Sviatoslav Richter, his emotion expressed in the music, I feel his misery in Schubert, or rather Schubert’s in him, Richter was so much in it…  Not intended for comparison, I also clip below Maria Grinberg’s interpretation, a feminine speech, another style.  I equally love it.

 

4 thoughts on “Schubert’s Piano Sonata in A major D664, Andante

    • Hi Sofia, I hope you’ll enjoy Schubert’s music, who has a very gentle soul… all music lovers do hope for him to have lived longer, although he has left us a huge treasure of lovely music, what requires us are perhaps patience and passion in exploring this treasure.

  1. I only recently got into Schubert’s work after learning “Serenade”. I’m keen to learn more, so once I have the current Beethoven sonata, the Chopin Waltz and Clair de Lune in a state I’m happy with I am going to learn some more Schubert. (Not sure which yet). I’m also going to learn Träumerei by Schumman. I can be goody two schu’s :)

    • I hope you will enjoy Schumann’s music as much as Schubert’s, each have quite different temperaments, Schumann combines musicality alongside mental deterioration, composed music of another kind (in my opinion), while Schubert’s music is mostly warm, sometimes veiled with earthly sufferings, but not the same kind like Schumann’s. Traumerei is a beloved piece of Horowitz that he played many times in ending his numerous public concerts, surely you’ll enjoy playing it.

Leave a comment

